GLM-Image vs DALL-E 3: An Honest Architecture Comparison

Comparing GLM-Image and DALL-E 3 architecture is an exercise in asymmetry: GLM-Image is an open model from Z.ai with published fundamentals — roughly 16B parameters, an autoregressive-plus-diffusion hybrid, a dedicated Glyph Encoder, an MIT license — while DALL-E 3 is a closed OpenAI product whose parameter count, architecture, and training details have never been disclosed. The honest comparison therefore happens at two levels: what each model's design philosophy is, and what you can observe each one do. Anything more precise than that, someone made up.
That last sentence is a warning this article earns the hard way: an earlier version of this comparison contained invented DALL-E 3 parameter counts, fake internal component names, a fabricated GLM-Image roadmap, and training-data numbers. All of it is gone. What remains is what a technical reader can actually use.
<!--IMG: Split illustration contrasting an open model card on the left with a closed black-box API on the right-->
What Do We Actually Know About Each Model?

Start with the verified ledger, because it frames everything else.
| GLM-Image | DALL-E 3 | |
|---|---|---|
| Developer | Z.ai | OpenAI |
| Access | Open weights (MIT license); self-hostable | Closed; API and OpenAI products only |
| Total parameters | ~16B | Not disclosed |
| Architecture | AR + diffusion hybrid with Glyph Encoder | Not disclosed |
| Text in images | Stated strength: Chinese and English; 91.16% on CVTG-2K | Publicly documented emphasis on better text understanding via improved captions; strong English text commonly reported |
| Image-to-image | Supported | Varies by integration surface; not a self-hostable capability |
| Local deployment | Yes, GPU with roughly 12GB+ VRAM | No |
The asymmetry is the story. GLM-Image's column can be filled with checkable facts because the model is open. DALL-E 3's column is mostly "not disclosed" — and any page filling it with specific numbers is publishing guesses dressed as specifications.
One real, citable data point on the OpenAI side: the technical write-up behind DALL-E 3 ("Improving Image Generation with Better Captions," arXiv:2307.01952) is about training — densely captioning image data to teach the model a stronger connection between text and image. It says revealingly little about the generator's architecture itself, which is consistent with everything else: OpenAI's public story is about data and text understanding, not internals.
Openness: The Difference That Compounds

The MIT license is the single biggest practical difference between these models. With GLM-Image you can download the weights, run them on your own GPU (plan for roughly 12GB of VRAM or more), fine-tune them, integrate them into products, and do all of it commercially without a contract. Your generation capacity is your hardware; your costs are bounded by electricity; your images never leave your machine if you do not want them to.
With DALL-E 3 you buy access, forever, at the provider's prices and terms. That is a legitimate product — polished, zero-setup, no hardware — but it is a dependency: pricing can change, availability can change, and your workflow has no exit that does not mean rebuilding somewhere else.
Openness also changes what "architecture comparison" can even mean. For GLM-Image, third parties can inspect, benchmark, and optimize the actual system, which is how the CVTG-2K text-rendering figure (91.16%) can be quoted as a verifiable property of the model. For DALL-E 3, the community's knowledge is behavioral observation: what the outputs look like, what the prompts produce. Both kinds of knowledge are useful; only one kind can be audited.
How Each Model Approaches Text in Images
Both models made text a priority, which tells you the industry converged on the same conclusion: spelling is the make-or-break capability for practical image generation. The approaches differ in what is public.
GLM-Image's text pipeline is architectural and documented at the component level: an autoregressive stage that understands the prompt as language and plans the image, plus a Glyph Encoder that conditions generation on the visual forms of characters. That design is specifically aimed at bilingual Chinese-English rendering — the model's stated strength, and the reason it scores 91.16% on CVTG-2K, a benchmark that measures how accurately generated images reproduce requested text.
DALL-E 3's public story, per the paper above, is data-centric: teach the model to understand text better by training on richer captions, so the image generator follows (and renders) what was actually asked. Behaviorally, the community consensus is that it produces some of the most reliable English text among closed models, while Chinese text is markedly weaker — commonly reported, though no official benchmark comparison exists.
Net: for English-only text, both are credible options and your choice will ride on cost, workflow, and openness. For Chinese or bilingual text, the verified evidence favors GLM-Image; DALL-E 3's Chinese weakness is community-reported rather than benchmarked, but it is consistently reported. The rendering deep-dive is best AI text rendering.
Where Does Each Model Win?
Choose GLM-Image when the images contain Chinese or bilingual text; when you want to self-host for cost, privacy, or offline operation; when MIT licensing lets you build a product without negotiating terms; or when you need image-to-image iteration as a first-class part of the workflow. Through glmimage.app you can also use it with no hardware at all: a limited number of free generations daily, and paid tiers at $9.90/$29.90/$79.90 per month for 500/2,000/6,000 credits, with 10 credits per image working out to roughly 50/200/600 images.
Choose DALL-E 3 when you want zero setup and polished English-language output inside the OpenAI ecosystem, you are already paying for that ecosystem, and per-call API pricing suits your volume better than a subscription. Note the cost asymmetry runs both ways: DALL-E 3's API is commonly listed at $0.04 per standard 1024×1024 image — cheaper per image than GLMImage's subscription tiers — but it is per-image forever, with no self-host exit and no bilingual strength.
What nobody outside the labs knows: DALL-E 3's parameter count, training data, internal latency structure, or how its text rendering is implemented. Articles that "reveal" these are filling a vacuum. The full technical profile of the open side of this comparison is in GLM-Image specs: what's verified and how the AR + diffusion hybrid works.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which model is technically better?
There is no verified head-to-head benchmark. GLM-Image has a verified text-rendering score (91.16% on CVTG-2K) and a published architecture; DALL-E 3 has a strong behavioral reputation, especially for English text, and no disclosed internals. Run your own prompt set through both if the decision matters.
Is DALL-E 3 open source?
No. It is closed, accessible through OpenAI's API and products. GLM-Image is the open model in this comparison — MIT-licensed weights you can self-host on a GPU with roughly 12GB of VRAM or more.
Which is better for Chinese text in images?
The verified evidence supports GLM-Image: bilingual Chinese-English rendering is its stated strength and it holds a verified text-rendering benchmark score. DALL-E 3's Chinese output is commonly reported as weak, though not officially benchmarked.
Can I run either model locally?
GLM-Image, yes — the MIT weights run on your own hardware. DALL-E 3, no; it exists only as a hosted service.
Judge the open side yourself: generate a bilingual image with GLM-Image →




